Aaron Meacham
Jul 19, 2022

--

Can a person stop being a woman? If "adult human female" is the definition of a woman and a woman moves from one culture where she's considered an adult to another culture where she is not considered an adult, has she ceased to be a woman?

I don't have a good answer for that.

We tend to think of adulthood as a threshold that a person moves through a single time rather than back-and-forth repeatedly.

I don't recall saying we can't or shouldn't be able to define what a woman is or that I will recognize one when I see one.

I'm saying it's more difficult than those three words. And I'm not claiming there is no answer or can be no answer when I'm simply claiming that I don't have it.

--

--

Aaron Meacham

My name anagrams to “a man becomes.” I love movies and Kurt Vonnegut. I don’t understand how anagrams work.